How to get started as an application developer?

Existing tutorial

I needed to dive into Juju and Charmhub, so I used this tutorial:

https://juju.is/docs/olm/microk8s

See this annotated PDF for some notes. how-to-use-microk8s.pdf (63.4 KB)

At the end of the tutorial my mental model is:

Suggested tutorial (or does it already exist?)

Overall, this was useful, but I think it would be worth introducing Juju + microk8s to an application developer specifically, so that they can:

• get a feel for the tools (“kick the tyres”)
  • learn some terminology
  • understand the benefits

Persona

I am a server application developer (including microservices). I can write an application, install it on an Ubuntu server and hook it up to a database and other resources. I can also configure (for example) a load-balancing web server.

I am not familiar with Juju or Kubernetes, but I understand they will make things like deployments, upgrades and scaling easier.

Does something like the following tutorial already exist?

Outline

Let’s take a simple Django application and deploy it to microk8s using Juju. The application has two components, the Django code and a PostreSQL database:

https://github.com/digitalocean/sample-django

We should be able to:

• build an OCI image from the source code
  • create a Juju namespace in microk8s
  • deploy the OCI image
  • deploy the PostgreSQL charm
  • hook things up :mage:
  • access the Django website from our browser

Next steps

Now that we have a basic application running, we should be able to:

• update the source code
  • including a Django data migrations (e.g. new field)
  • generate a new OCI image from the source code
  • deploy the update
  • confirm it still works!
4 Likes

Hi, some of this might overlap with this tutorial, though I think your outline is clearer and doesn’t assume as much knowledge as the tutorial.

• Daniel
2 Likes