New Openstack Deployment questions

Hi all,

I’m new to Openstack and I’ve been testing Openstack installation in a virtual testlab, using 6 nodes. I’ve installed Maas, Juju controller and 4 nodes according to the Openstack documentation. Everything runs ok, I can access the dashboard, create instances etc. All looking good. I’m running everything on focal.

I do have a couple more questions though which the installation/configuration doesn’t cover, well not for this particular case.

So how do I manage Ceph storage, I can’t see it in the Openstack dashboard. Is this all command line based? I’m running a ceph cluster myself and it has a dashboard. is it possible to add that as well? Or does this go through Cinder?

Another question, when I go for a production deployment I will obv go for dedicated nodes for ceph and nova. But all the other stuff, maas, vault, neutron, keystone etc. I assume that can be run virtual as well? Is it recommended to run this on a separate, private cloud? (e.g. on vmware/proxmox).

Then there is the networking which always confuses me a bit. So I have the primary interface for MaaS deployment. The secondary interface is for external net. Do I need another one for private LAN between VMs, any pointers here where to start?

I’m experienced with networking, vlans, routing etc. and with hypervisors vmware, proxmox etc and I’m pretty advanced with Linux but right now Openstack seems much to take in at this point, when I run a production environment I need to be able to troubleshoot as well, keep it running so any pointers where to begin would be much appriciated.

Thanks!

Hi Martin

I’m new to Openstack and I’ve been testing Openstack installation in a virtual testlab, using 6 nodes. I’ve installed Maas, Juju controller and 4 nodes according to the Openstack documentation. Everything runs ok, I can access the dashboard, create instances etc. All looking good. I’m running everything on focal.