Leadership Elections and Lease Operations

Hello all,

I am hopeful someone can help me figure out how to debug a problem I am having with lease operations and leadership election.

I am trying to follow the LivePatch On-Prem deployment tutorial to deploy a LivePatch server on my local k8s cluster.

I’m feeling my way through this as I’m new to Juju and Charms, but I got to the point were I have Juju setup, the LivePatch Charm bundle deployed, and I can see the pods running in my cluster.

However, the pods never reach readiness, and each seems to be complaining with the same error:

ERROR juju.worker.dependency engine.go:695 "leadership-tracker" manifold worker returned unexpected error: leadership failure: lease operation timed out

I’m trashing on this issue because I cannot figure out what is causing the timeout to occur. Thus far I have not been able to figure out how to get more information out, so I’m looking for some suggestions on what steps to take to further debug this.

I’m also a little confused why I’m having a problem with leadership even though I’m not running a HA setup (at least, that’s not my intention at the moment). If I only have a single unit for an application, why is it still going through a leadership election?

Here’s the status for my setup from Juju, to help illustrate:

juju status
Model      Controller  Cloud/Region  Version  SLA          Timestamp
livepatch  kubernetes  kubernetes    3.1.6    unsupported  08:20:51-05:00

App         Version  Status   Scale  Charm                           Channel        Rev  Address         Exposed  Message
ingress     25.3.0   active       1  nginx-ingress-integrator        latest/stable   81  10.111.165.16   no       
livepatch            waiting      1  canonical-livepatch-server-k8s  latest/stable   21  10.111.85.31    no       waiting for units to settle down