Juju and microk8s charm

Hi All,

I am new to JuJu and trying to understand the need for microk8s charm. As per my understanding JuJu orchestrates applications in a cloud like k8, aws and so on. Now if we are using JuJu to orchestrate microk8s charm as an application will it be considered as a cloud under the same juju instance ?

https://charmhub.io/microk8s/docs/how-to-cluster

Earlier i was first installing microk8s via snap and then juju bootstrap to the microk8s cloud. Now if I am using juju deploy to setup microk8s charm do i still need to bootstrap the same as cloud. What will be the usecase for the same ?

Hi! Indeed it is my understanding that if you use juju to deploy a k8s cloud (of any type), you’ll need to bootstrap a new controller onto that cloud before you can manage it with juju. Juju doesn’t see what workload a charm is deploying/operating.

Thanks for the reply @ppasotti

Ideally the flow would be juju bootstrap, juju add model and then juju deploy. So in the case of microk8s charm, will it be juju deploy and then juju bootstrap? If yes, in which cloud is the application (in this case microk8s) is deployed ?

well before you can juju deploy anything, you need to have a controller bootstrapped. the microk8s charm is intended for situations where you already have a cloud bootstrapped.

if you don’t have a cloud yet, you can get one by running for example the microk8s snap on the host. Then you can deploy anything you like on top of that microk8s, even, I guess, another microk8s :slight_smile:

Thanks for the reply @ppasotti

Well in that case I can use microk8s charms only on top of machine cloud bootstrapped to juju.

One more addon question, sorry for including the same here

Currently I install microk8s via snap and initiate juju bootstrap to trigger bootstrapping controller with microk8s. Once done, I perform juju deploy kubeflow on the microk8s cloud.