Is there a future planned for an Openstack Magnum charm?

Hello, I’ve been using Juju for Openstack deployments now for a few months. The last successful install that I’ve done was of Wallaby if memory serves me. I used an openstack-charmers-next magnum charm and with some effort I was able to deploy the charm though it didn’t work out of the box. I did report a bug or two but I am wondering if it’s even worth it to try and continue to use Magnum? I didn’t get the impression that it had a future, when I reported the bug it was mentioned that I was using an unreleased charm version, and it still appears to be unreleased now.

I have been working on a Xena charmed install and I have been having even more difficulties.

I recently hit this issue: https://bugs.launchpad.net/charm-heat/+bug/1952447 which has been open about a month. It’s not that I can’t work around it, but I just want to get my Kubernetes cluster completed and every time I find a problem it takes hours to work through.

Is there a matrix of what is actually supported as a charm for openstack xena? I don’t want to use heat and magnum if there is a more tested option for Kubernetes deployment. Is there a Slack channel for discussions about openstack charms that anyone can point me to?

Hi Dan,

The bug I believe you must be referring to is LP #1943385. What went unsaid there was that the magnum charm itself has a status of tech-preview (see here), in addition to you using the development version. This means unfortunately that it is not a supported charm. I will ask around as to what the plans are with respect to promoting the charm to stable status.

We do not have a matrix of supported charms vs OpenStack releases. Generally speaking, a stable charm works with all currently supported OpenStack releases unless stated otherwise in its README file. For instance, the magnum charm needs at least OpenStack Ussuri (so Xena is theoretically covered).