Trouble creating a microk8s controller

Hi Community,

I’m a beginner using juju, I completed a couple of examples and now I’m trying to deploy GitLab charm using CLI from scratch. However, I ran into trouble that I did not experience before when creating a controller.

I have set up two servers one master and the other node running microk8s. I deploy this application successfully on microk8s.

kubectl create deployment web --image=gcr.io/google-samples/hello-app:1.0 --port=8080

Then, I started to make a controller juju bootstrap microk8s gitlab-mk8s and this is what happened.

pedro@ubuntu-2gb-hel1-2:~$ juju bootstrap microk8s gitlab-mk8s
    Creating Juju controller "gitlab-mk8s" on microk8s/localhost
    Fetching Juju Dashboard 0.3.0
    Creating k8s resources for controller "controller-gitlab-mk8s"
    ERROR failed to bootstrap model: creating controller stack for controller: creating statefulset for controller: timed out waiting for controller pod: unschedulable: 0/2 nodes are available: 2 Insufficient memory.

I think I have enough memory.
is there anyone who could guide me to find a solution?

Welcome!

I don’t see any specific guidelines in terms of memory on https://juju.is/docs/microk8s-cloud but I do see on MicroK8s - Introduction to MicroK8s the recommendation is at least 20G of disk space and 4G of memory.

How much memory do you have in this case (free -m)? I see “2gb” in the shell prompt and was wondering if that meant the instance has 2G of memory. Would be good to know which version of juju and microk8s you’re using as well.

Hello Tom,
Thanks for your reply here the information you requested for.

Memory, you are right:

total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:                    1939        1111         131           2         695         750
Swap:                      0           0           0

microk8s && Juju Version:
snap list

juju: 2.8.7 14932 latest/stable canonical✓ classic